Starting Techniques for the A1-C-200

DennisH

I am new to flying fuel injected engines and sometimes have a hard time staring especially Hot or Warm starts. Can you please share how you are getting this 200 started?
Thanks Dennis

Last edited:

Audette

For hot starts, I don't know if it is the same for a Lycoming, but in my bonanza (IO-520/550) I use to pull the mixture all the way out and then turn on the fuel pump for a full minute... Then crank it over with the mixture still lean (but not all the way out). When it starts to catch, slowly to rich and set for altitude.

Hope that helps

trapper

I never prime a Lycoming since it just floods it. Give it 1/2 throttle with mixture lean. Crank engine and slowly feed in the mixture and when it lights off retard the throttle quicky and set the mixture as desired. Works for me every time on my 540

nightflyer

I have the 200hp engine. I do exactly what the book says, crack the throttle, mixture lean, start, mixture rich when it fires. I don’t go to full rich but just enough to keep the engine running smooth for taxi.

airplanebrad

Night flyer hit the nail. FI lycomings always start in mixture idle cut off. If it’s not starting good. Gap or replace the plugs, set the timing perfectly and/or overhaul the mags and wires. Could have a bad plug wire too.

jliltd