Looking at floating my Husky

Tommy2

hi Guys, I'm very new to Husky's just finishing up rebuilding a A1-A. I'm finding very little on Husky on floats, i.e. Best floats in a reasonable price range, rigging, where to source parts etc.
Would EDO 2000's be a reasonable float on the A-1-A for personal use? My flying is strictly for fun so going into a high dollar set-up worth as much as the plane wouldn't make any sense for me. Thank you ,Tom

Floyd

I have a set of Baumann amphib floats on a Experimental super cub. The floats are almost identical to a set of Wiplines so if you are able to find a set of them I’d grab them. There are two large storage compartments that will fit a 6 US gal fuel jug thru the opening with extra room for more stuff. If you plan on fishing off your floats then these have a nice surface for walking on without worrying about falling off. The parts for the gear can be purchased. I bought all the seals for the oleo’s for $20 just to have. Haven’t changed anything yet. There is a gear advisory in the cockpit that talks to you and needs to be acknowledged. My floats are 2150A. But if all you need are straight floats then for sure I’d recommend Baumanns after all it’s just aluminum so can be repaired. Hope this helped

johnaz

I think the Baumann's are the best choice if you can find a set. Far better than Edo 2000's. Nice flat decks, big lockers and float the tails up far better than Edo's. Load up EDO's and the tails go under, and round tops hard to walk on. And are the lightest weight ones out there I believe.
John

Larson

I have the Wip 2100A’s and Edo 2000’s.
2100A’s are the most versatile with the option of runway use. Work well, very happy with them. Easiest to operate daily.
2000’s are great performer- very light and cheap to buy! These leap off the water! A Husky performs better light- all day everyday!

2100A’s have flat top deck, easier to walk/swim on/from, big storage areas.