Tall guy questions

bjan11

Hey folks,

Long time reader. I've been a pilot for a few years and always wanted to do a bit more backcountry flying. I'm currently in a partnership in a 180 near Seattle that's on wheels in winter and floats in summer. Love the float flying. Haven't done much on wheels, partly because most of the backcountry / camping strips are closed or not ideal for camping in the winter. Long time I'd love to own a Husky with the PK amphibs.

Questions:

* I'm 6'4" and 260 lb. Am I likely to fit into an A1-B Husky? I can fit into a Top Cub (did my tailwheel at TacAero in Hood River), although it's pretty snug. Apparently the A1-C has an adjustable seat, but A1-Cs are a lot more expensive on Trade a Plane.
* I've read that there is a heel pan mod for more foot/leg room. If I get heel pans installed, can they be blocked off with something to accomodate a shorter pilot? My girlfrend is also a pilot.
* How does docking work on a plane with only one door? You just always have to dock on one side?

Thanks!
Bruce

Kent Wien

Hi Bruce,

I’m 6’ and considered the heel pans, but found I didn’t really need them. My girlfriend, also a pilot is 5’ 8” and she absolutely didn’t want the heel pans. They could work well for you. But you’d want to check with how she liked them.

Only the 2018 and later C model Husky has the adjustable front seat.

Kent

groshel

Bruce,

I’m 6’3” and 175...long waisted (torso) with a 10.5 shoe.

My shins were close to the panel lower edge and I had a tendency to pressure the toe brakes until I put the heel pans in. Made the plane a lot more comfortable for me and stopped the toe brake touching /pressure thing.

The pans are about 2.5” deep. Didn’t need that much so I used a 1.5” thick filler block of balsa wood that velcros to the bottom of the pan and then used a 1/4” thick piece if aluminum honeycomb panel velcroed on top of the balsa.

That gives me about a 1” drop on my heels and works perfectly.

groshel