Yeager passing

trapper

Looks like they are going to do a celebration for General Yeager at our local airport tomorrow by the F104 that was placed in his honor years ago. Looking back I was fortunate to have flown with him when I was a student pilot. I remember laughing with him my first flight and him telling me not to kill him !! Ended up buying 50% of N4QR which is the plane you see several photos of him in. Good memories and I will find some photos and post them soon. What a life he had and how lucky my friend Bart Riebe set it up.

trapper

He flew 31HY twice years ago but he had lots of time in N4QR. I remember Bart landing it with him at Beale AFB years ago. Don't see too many Huskies on the flight line. I also remember he was the first passenger I ever flew with other than my instructor and Bart. I was taxying to the runway and I noticed all the guys at the FBO pointing at us and I asked Yeager what they were pointing at and he said they were probably wondering if I would crash. He had a great sense of humor. I guess I should have been nervous but was too young to be. Looking at the few signed pictures in my office have more meaning now that he has passed as do the log book entries.

HuskyN3QR

Looks like they are going to do a celebration for General Yeager at our local airport tomorrow by the F104 that was placed in his honor years ago. Looking back I was fortunate to have flown with him when I was a student pilot. I remember laughing with him my first flight and him telling me not to kill him !! Ended up buying 50% of N4QR which is the plane you see several photos of him in. Good memories and I will find some photos and post them soon. What a life he had and how lucky my friend Bart Riebe set it up.
Funny I ownHUSKY N3QR and live about 30 miles where Yeager grew Up in WEST BY GOD VIRGINIA. SMALL WORLD.

Greg